Everyone knows that you shouldn’t drive drunk. With all the different ride-share app options available to us now it’s shocking that people still get pulled over for DUI’s. A regular DUI is bad enough for your record. You may have to do community service and it will cause your insurance rates to skyrocket. But what about an aggravated DUI? Sounds scary right? Well, it is, and it can do all the damage of a regular DUI plus more. So what exactly is an aggravated DUI? Read on to make sure that you never receive one. 

What Makes A DUI Aggravated?

No, it doesn’t mean that the officer charging you with your DUI is especially that day. It refers to a class of DUI’s that are more criminal than the regular misdemeanor DUI charge.

 A DUI charge automatically becomes aggravated when a person is given a breathalyzer test and blows a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.15 or higher. On average this means that this person has consumed roughly 8-10 drinks but it could be far more or less depending on the person’s height, weight, and metabolism.

 If you are very obviously drunk, don’t get behind the wheel or you will likely be facing an aggravated DUI charge.

 An aggravated DUI can also be charged if someone:

  • Has a minor present in the car with them.
  • Is driving 20 MPH over the posted speed limit.
  • Is driving with a suspended license.

 And this aggravated charge becomes a felony if you get in a car wreck that causes serious bodily harm or death.

Aggravated DUI Penalties In Alabama

Once you’ve been charged with an aggravated DUI in Alabama things only get worse for you. In 2011 Alabama passed a Super DUI law, to crack down on aggravated DUI’s and increase the penalties. Under this new law even first time offenders can face:

  • Minimum one year jail time.
  • One-year driver’s license suspension.
  • Fines of up to $4,500.

And plenty of other charges, in addition to car insurance rates that will have increased exponentially.

How To Avoid An Aggravated DUI

So how do you avoid an aggravated DUI charge? Well, it’s simple, if you’ve been drinking either set up a designated driver or call an Uber, Lyft, or taxi to come to pick you up. The price of that ride will feel like nothing in comparison to the sky-high insurance rates, fines, legal fees, and jail time you will face if charged with an aggravated DUI in Alabama.

 Unfortunately, it’s not always possible to get a ride from someone sober or book a ride-share app. Aggravated DUI’s happen every day and if you are facing these intense DUI charges you need to call the best.

Tim Fleming has been handling DUI cases for over 30 years in Mobile, Alabama and he is just the attorney to take on your aggravated DUI charges. He will fight tirelessly for you to reduce your charges and make sure an aggravated DUI doesn’t ruin your life. If you’re facing DUI charges, call us today or fill out our online contact form. We’ll get in touch with you quickly to go over your options.